top of page

The 2019 Honors and Awards Convocation Highlights

The annual Honors and Awards Convocation that celebrates the achievements, hard work and leadership of student, faculty, staff, and student organization took place at 6 p.m. Monday. Filled by members of the Oglethorpe community, the library atrium recognized the most outstanding members of Oglethorpe University for the 2018-2019 school year.

The convocation recognized over 40 members of the Oglethorpe community. Some of the highlights of this year’s award include the prestigious Sullivan Award. This award bears the name of Algernon Sydney Sullivan and Mary Mildred Sullivan, and recognizes those who put service above their own self. The recipients were junior Benna Curole and senior Bradley Firchow, who are both well-known not just for frequently dedicating their time to service projects, but also for being outstanding in their academics and leadership roles.

In the leadership category, ODK gave its annual four awards to recognize emerging and current leaders on campus. ODK selects the recipients by holding nomination session and a voting session among its members for the recipients. This year’s the awards went to: sophomore Talia Weinstein for The Emerging Leadership Award; senior Dylan Harper for the Outstanding Leadership Award; Associate Director of the A_Lab Jessica Winestock for the Outstanding Staff Award; and professor of Spanish Matthew Wild for the Outstanding Faculty Award.

SGA gave three awards to outstanding members of the Oglethorpe community. The first was the Charles M. McConnell Award to senior Arman Niknafs, the Donald C. Agnew Award to Dr. John Carden. Finally, the SGA Community Appreciation Award went to none other than Turan Dantzler who is beloved by students, faculty, and staff as a person that can always bring a smile to one’s face. Dantzler also went home with the Spirit of the Alpha Phi Omega Award.

As is done every year, the J. Frederick Agel, Sr. ’52 endowed scholarship is given to two rising seniors student who have proven to be well rounded students that contribute significantly to student life. This year’s recipients were Sam Held and McKenzie Simpson.

Dr. Sharfman presented the Student Organization of the Year award to the Oglethorpe South Asian Club (OSAC), who hosted a variety of events such as the Holi celebration just last week.

We congratulate all of this year’s recipients.

Follow The Stormy Petrel
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
bottom of page